Fallen Trees

Standard

I put a picture of fallen trees over water on my blog site. Pictures like this seem to have so much to tell.

For me this picture represents how I feel about family history (officially referred to as genealogy). A person’s family history is as varied and useful as these trees’ lives in the photo.

The trees started out young, struggling to survive to find necessities. If they made it they continued to grow and thrive to adulthood. Some even having the strength to produce offspring. Some make it to old age and can then rest and wait out their days in the elements with their memories. Some are struck down too early from unforeseeable events or illness. All however, leave behind something of value, their mark.

The trees in this photo seem to have fallen to some early end. However even in this state they carry on with worth to others. Giving a path that others can use and take to move forward in their lives.

All of this is how I feel about genealogy. We can use our past family history to learn from and embrace what we see today in ourselves and our family. And this all has immeasurable value in knowing the ‘things’ that make us: our traits, health conditions and future possibilities of what we can do and be…it goes on and on, decade after decade. That’s our roots.

What an amazing thing…learning from our past to drive us forward to a better us. And knowing that even when we do fall, future generations will look back and see and learn from us.

And I think we all agree we want to leave them something positive. The value of us. It’s incomparable.

3 thoughts on “Fallen Trees

  1. I love your first post. It was a very good way to introduce what your blog will be about while giving a little insight as to why you are so interested in genealogy and why it is so important. The photo is a good representation that trees are like our families. They are held together by the roots. Some grow strong and powerful, others die early or are demolished, but they all leave some kind of mark. I am interested now in learning about my past ancestors and how I can learn from them and their lives. I think you said it perfectly when you said, learning from our past to drive us forward to a better us. And that future generations will look back and learn from us. I’m excited to read more of your posts.

  2. I love your first post. It was a very good way to introduce what your blog will be about while giving a little insight as to why you are so interested in genealogy and why it is so important. The photo is a good representation that trees are like our families. They are held together by the roots. Some grow strong and powerful, others die early or are demolished, but they all leave some kind of mark. I am interested now in learning about my past ancestors and how I can learn from them and their lives. I think you said it perfectly when you said, learning from our past to drive us forward to a better us. And that future generations will look back and learn from us. I’m excited to read more of your posts.

  3. You chose a very interesting blog topic and I might say I’m a little jealous of the great idea! I’ve never looked into my ancestry but that’s something I would love to do in my spare time. As you’re finding out, it’s interesting to see where you really come from and it’s fun to see the accomplishments that you’re ancestors achieved. With that of course comes some difficult times but those are to be expected and it’s part of life. The fallen trees photo and description was inspirational to me. I understand the connection you are making and it really gives me something to think about. I’m anxious to look at my own ancestry and continue to read about yours.

Leave a Reply

